November 2016 Birchbox Review

Welcome to the first review of the CherryCherryBeauty beauty panel! Beauty boxes are a big deal these days, and when you take a closer look at them, it’s not hard to see why. You get four (this changes across the various boxes) trial sized beauty products, and one full-sized product too. If you like what you’ve tried, you can order the full size at a cheaper price than what it would have been if you had bought it anywhere else.

November 2016 Birchbox Review

I’ve been the proud owner of a few beauty boxes over the last year or so – Glossybox, Birchbox, and even a few of the others, such as Pink Parcel – a special little box designed to make your period a little bit easier. One of my favourites is Birchbox – the one I’m about to unwrap for you now.

november 2016 birchbox review

BIRCHBOX UK

My November 2016 Birchbox was filled with goodies as usual, and the five products I received were:

Beauty Protector Protect & Blonde Toning Shampoo

Firstly, I had grey / silver hair when I got this Birchbox, so it was almost as though they knew I’d need it! The purple coloured shampoo is perfect for removing those brassy tones, and I love to use it to keep my silver / grey hair as bright as possible.

november 2016 birchbox review

Not just is the shampoo paragon free, it’s suitable for vegans, and it actually works. You can buy it from Birchbox for £18.50 for 236ml, and out of 838 reviews, it scored 3.9 stars out of 5 on the website. Take a peek for yourself here.


NUXE Crème Prodigieuse® – Normal to Combination Skin

Out of 4,691 reviews on the Birchbox website, the NUXE Crème Prodigieuse® – Normal to Combination Skin scored a very impressive 4.2 out of 5 stars, so I was super excited to tear open this one and get started.

november 2016 birchbox review

A formula that mattifies as it hydrates, I used this every day for a week after cleansing, before I started my makeup regime. It’s meant to make you look alert and awake (even when you’re not feeling it), and I must admit the moisturiser did leave my skin feeling fresh and hydrated, super soft too. There’s no heavy greasiness to it, and it has a good texture. Overall, I’d say this one was a winner.

You can find this on the Birchbox website here – £21 for 40ml, and there is also a cream available for dry skin too, which you can find here. You can check out the entire NUXE range here.


KhairPep Transforme™ Masque

Winter can really take it out of your hair, so anything that promises to rehydrate or re-nourish always catches my eye. This hair mask with K18 peptides promises to volumes and rehydrate, as well as restoring good condition and strengthening too, and you simply leave it in for a few minutes (as you would a regular conditioner in the shower), and then rinse out.

november 2016 birchbox review

Out of 182 reviews on the Birchbox website, this product was rated 3.9 out of 5 stars, so don’t just take my word for it. If you have dry hair, or locks in need of some serious TLC, the KhairPep Transforme™ Masque might just be for you.

You can find the KhairPep Transforme™ Masque on the Birchbox website here – £47.50 for 1.7 fl oz. If you have fine hair, you could check out the KhairPep Transforme™ Serum, which you’ll find here. It’s an expensive product, but you don’t need a lot, and it really works. It’s advisable to use this once or twice in the first couple of weeks that you have it, and then sparingly, as you hair needs a good pampering session after that.


Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow Illuminator

We all want dewy skin, I certainly do, and this product combines two products in one – a BB cream that gives you a great all-over glow.

Using this will help you to calm the skin, hydrate it, even the tone of it, mask any imperfections without caking them in makeup, controls the shine, and helps to make it radiant too. Plus, if that wasn’t good enough, it’s also oil-free, gluten-free, perfume-free, and hypoallergenic too.

november 2016 birchbox review

Again, don’t just take my word for it … Out of 3,452 reviews on the Birchbox website, it scored 3.7 out of 5 stars. I personally would rate it 5/5 stars. I actually ordered the bigger size version of this once I’d used all the trial sample.

You can find the Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow Illuminator on the Birchbox website here – £25.50 for 45ml. It’s such a hit, I’ve only managed to catch it in stock once. It’s always out of stock! You’ll find the entire Marcelle range here.


Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Primer

This was my favourite product out of the entire November 2016 Birchbox review, and I loved it so much, I’ve recommended it to at least six or seven of my friends and co-workers.

Another one that’s always out of stock, I’ve not yet been able to buy another one of these from the Birchbox website, and out of 4,867 reviews, the Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Primer scored 3.9 out of 5 stars.

november 2016 birchbox review

If you find that using bold colours causes your lipstick or stain to crack and look cakey, this primer is perfect, and you can even use it on its own. It looks like a wonderfully shiny lip gloss when you put it over neutral lips, and it makes them feel super soft too.

I couldn’t believe this little beauty was only £15 for 9ml – you only need the tiniest amount on your finger so it’ll go a really long way. It’s my favourite find out of all the beauty boxes I’ve tried this year! You can find it here on the Birchbox website, and if you see it in stock, grab it fast! It’s never in stock for long.

You can check out the entire Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics range here, and you’ll be happy to know that they are cruelty-free and PETA-certified as 100% vegan.


And that’s my November 2016 Birchbox review. I was a little disappointed when I first opened the box, as they were five smaller sized products, but that’s because the lip primer from OCC was a full-sized one.

BIRCHBOX UK - Gift Subscriptions
If you subscribe to Birchbox this December, you’ll receive a free FULL-SIZE Smith & Cult Lip Lacquer (worth £21!) in your box. There are a number of packages on offer:

  • Per month – £10 (+ P&P each £2.95)
  • 6 months – £60 (+P&P each £2.95)
  • 12 months – £100 (+ P&P each £2.95)

People are finding great beauty products in their beauty boxes, and you could find your next favourite item next time you open the door to the postman.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Don’t forget to come back and let us know how you got on with your beauty boxes, and which ones you signed up for! Leave your review below for any of the products you’ve tried too. Let’s get the conversation started.

If you want to be part of the Beauty Panel for CherryCherryBeauty, get in touch. We’re looking for guest bloggers to add to our reviews!


14448309_1796520967296465_1455160161407598592_n

This guest post was provided by CherryCherryBeauty den Beauty Panel reviewer UKWordGirl.

 

*Honesty policy: Along with the majority of other bloggers, we here at the CherryCherryBeauty den use affiliate links on the site to earn a small amount of commission, and these are found on the products that we link to. All product opinions are those of the writer(s). This keeps the site going and helps to pay for the running costs. Thanks!
Posted by cherrycherrybeauty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *